top of page

Maker Trivia Alexa Skill


I just finished creating my first standalone Amazon Alexa skill: 'Maker Trivia'.

I have created an Alexa skill before, during my 3D Printer Host Project, but Maker Trivia is my first skill that is standalone running just through Amazon Alexa products. My goal with Maker Trivia was to create a trivia skill to quiz myself and others on the many abbreviations and acronyms used in the Maker(3D Printing, Electronics, Software) community. Examples of phrases I used were EEPROM, API, AVR, and so much more.


To create the skill, I used the example trivia skill 'node-js-example-trivia' put up on the Alexa Github Page along with the tutorial that was posted with it. This project was very simple compared to the usual projects because I did not need to write any new code. I simply used the code posted by the Alexa engineers and adapted it to suit my needs.(This is only OK because Alexa engineers published it as a free to use template.)


I have integrated many acronyms into the skill but more are to come, I plan on continuing to add to this skill into the foreseeable future. Please check out the skill and give it some reviews.

The skill can be found here https://www.amazon.com/Miles-Nash-Maker-Trivia/dp/B07BS5RBF3/ref=sr_1_2?s=amazon-devices&ie=UTF8&qid=1522706464&sr=8-2&keywords=maker+trivia

14 views
bottom of page